Connect with us

Ministers, incumbent MPs shown out


Ministers, incumbent MPs shown out

Losers; Kahinda has been beaten by Kahonda. Muloni and Wafula have also been beaten

Losers; Kahinda has been beaten by Kahonda. Muloni and Wafula have also been beaten

A wave of change that has characterized this election has left many ministers on the verge of being blown off the political stage.

Reliable information reaching us shows that eight long-serving ministers and the leader of the opposition have been defeated in their parliamentary races. The ministers are Jim Katugugu Muhwezi for information, Dr Cryspus Kiyonga for Defence, Henry Muganwa Kajura for public service, Kahinda Otafire for Constitutional Affairs, Rose Kataike Ndoboli, Vincent Nnyanzi, Jessica Alupo for Education.

The leader of opposition Phillip Wafula Oguttu has also bean defeated in his  Bukhooli County Central. It’s not clear if the comfort of this high-profile office is the reason its occupants tend to suffer losses when they go back to the people. Oguttu’s predecessor Ogenga Latigo was also beaten in the 2011 parliamentary elections.

Other ministers who have suffered losses include Minerals deputy minister Peter Lokeris, Finance deputy minister Henry Banyenzaki, and Housing state minister Sam Engola.

Other prominent MPs who have lost their seats include Lubaga South MP John Ken Lukyamuzi and his counterpart in Lubaga North Kasibante. Lukyamuzi lost to artist Kato Lubwama while Kasibante has lost to long-serving MP Betti Namisango Kamya.



Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in News

Advertisement media
Advertisement solar



To Top